Baking is one of my favorite things to do. I encourage you to try baking from scratch, not from the box because baking from scratch is the better option for your body and you can fully appreciate the art of baking. I’ve been on the hunt for the perfect chocolate chip cookie recipe. The ones I have made before were either cakey or just okay.  I finally found a mind blowing one last night courtesy of Samantha Merritt from Sugar Spun Run!

I was searching on Pinterest when all of a sudden I came across the words, “The WORST Chocolate Chip Cookies.” I asked in my mind, how could these be the worst? Let me tell you these are the worst in a sense that the recipe was brilliant and the cookies were terribly addicting. They seriously had me working on my self control. What changed the game for me was the maple syrup that was included. I would never think of putting maple syrup in a chocolate chip cookie recipe. That addition makes all the difference! 

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup butter, melted and then cooled for at least 5 minutes*
  • 1½ cups light brown sugar, packed
  • ½ cup granulated sugar
  • 2 eggs (room temperature preferred)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • ¼ cup maple syrup
  • 3¼ cups all purpose flour
  • 2 tsp cornstarch
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 cups chocolate chips of choice (I used hershey’s milk chocolate chips)

Instructions:

  1. In large bowl, stir together melted butter and sugars.
  2. Add eggs, one at a time, stirring combined.
  3. Stir in vanilla extract and maple syrup.
  4. In separate bowl, whisk together flour, cornstarch, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.
  5. Gradually add flour mixture to wet ingredients, stirring until completely combined.
  6. Stir in chocolate chips.
  7. Cover bowl with clear wrap and allow to chill for at least 30 minutes (chilling!? I told you, this recipe is the worst.)
  8. While the dough is chilling, preheat oven to 350F and prepare cookie sheets by lining with parchment paper.
  9. Scoop about 2-3 Tbsp of cookie dough and roll into balls, making them slightly taller than they are wide. Place them at least 2 inches apart on prepared cookie sheet.
  10. Bake about 13 minutes (cookies will appear to be a bit underdone, but edges should be just beginning to turn golden brown).
  11. Allow cookies to cool completely on cookie sheet. If desired, gently press a few chocolate chips on top of the hot cookies.
  12. Keep unbaked cookie dough in fridge while waiting to put the next batch in the oven, and do not place cookie dough on a hot cookie sheet. I can not stress this part enough. The dough is easy to handle when it’s chilled.

Processed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with a6 preset

Processed with VSCO with s2 preset
looks better in person and the dough made way more cookies than these

Here’s a pretty funny story of how I messed up on the last four cookies… I had my iPod Touch’s sound up to the highest it could go and every time I took a picture it made that annoying snap sound. I didn’t want that so I muted the sound. A few minutes later I put the last four balls of dough into the oven and set the timer on my iPod to 13 minutes. I was passing time by using my laptop. 13 minutes was up and my timer went off but I didn’t know because I couldn’t hear it! I forgot that I turned the sound off! HA stupid of me. I don’t know how many minutes past before I looked over at my iPod and realized but I opened the oven and the cookies were not burnt but rather a dark brown. I thought that when those dark brown ones completely cooled, they would be completely crispy but to my surprise they weren’t! They were chewy like the rest! 

Another thing that went wrong but no so wrong was that I didn’t have baking powder handy, so I had to use 1/4 tsp extra baking soda. 

Whenever I want to make chocolate chip cookies, this recipe will always be my go-to. I wish I had known about it three years ago when I did my demonstration speech in public speaking. The cookies would have been a winner to my classmates for sure. Let me know what you think once you try these cookies! I gave some to my roommates and two of my friends- they all thought it was yummy and “The Worst Chocolate Chip Cookies” recipe was definitely worth bookmarking.

Processed with VSCO with m5 preset

X O , 

T I N A

 

Leave a Reply

