I have been wanting to donate my hair for the third time while I was a senior at university. I did not have a set date on when I wanted to get my haircut but I knew I wanted to do it someday after graduation. Fast forward to my graduation lunch which was on the afternoon of graduation day, one of my friends, Kim, told me I should get my haircut on Monday. It was a Saturday when she said that. That meant I would have one more full day with long hair if I agreed with her- I agreed with her. It’s amazing what the week of graduation did for me. It gave me full confidence

Before you read the rest of this post, I recommend that you first read the caption on my haircut announcement post on my instagram (my user name is tinarebecca) to learn something about Locks of Love and to know the background of everything that led up to this being the third time I have donated my hair to them

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Monday came. I wanted to know how many inches of hair Locks of Love needed before I made my decision solid to go in and get a haircut, so I gave Super Cuts a call. The lady on the phone told me, “We need at least ten inches.” One of my sisters took out a ruler to measure how short my hair would be if I had gotten ten inches taken off. It did not look bad

My sister Ashley and I walked into Super Cuts with no appointment. The lady at the front counter told me, “You know it’s ten inches, right?” I said, “Yes, that’s fine.” Then she says, “Oh, and we’re also going to need like an inch more for room.” Room? I think that is what I remember her saying. I think they described to me what they meant by that but I don’t remember. Since I didn’t have an appointment, I waited in their waiting room for about 20-30 minutes

Ahhh it was my turn! One thing I regret was not asking my hairdresser what her name is. She was nice to me, made me feel special, and styled my hair sooo pretty. I told her I was there to donate my hair and she said, “Oh, we haven’t had someone come in here to donate their hair in a long time. That’s kind of you.” She tried to find a handout to give to me that had Locks of Love’s information on it, including their address for me to mail my hair out to them, but she couldn’t find any. She said I could just google them to get their address

She separated my hair into sections/ little pony tails. I forgot how many sections/ pony tails. She put some at the front of my shoulders and said, “This is how short it would be.” I told her she could go shorter- shoulder-length short. That made my donation 12 inches! I was in love with the outcome. She told me the reason why she made my cut into a “v” shape (shorter in the back and a little bit longer at the front) but I forgot why. Wow haha I’m realizing I forgot a lot about my third haircut experience. This side picture shows the “v” shape best

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Throughout my hair being cut off, one of my hairdresser’s coworkers handed her a scratch-off lottery thing or whatever they’re called, which led her to talk to me about millionaire winners. She was telling me about something she saw on the television about a man who used to work as a bus driver for students with special needs. Then one day he won the lottery. He quit the job, moved into a mansion, owned a new car, and more. He gave a lot of money to his grown-up, married sons and daughters who ended up not giving their mom and dad a call to simply check-in with them and they didn’t make visits to their mom and dad’s house, which meant he and his wife didn’t get to see their grandchildren too. There were a lot of times his wife would get upset with him. All his friends who he was close to, ended up pushing him out of their lives. They didn’t want anything to do with him. All the people who were not close to him before he won the lottery, all of a sudden wanted to be his best friend. Fast forward, the interviewer asked him something like, “If there’s anything you could change right now, what would that be?” He responded with something like, “I wish I could go back to my job as a bus driver. I miss the kids that I would drive around and talk to.”

This story she told me about the millionaire literally lasted the amount of time it took for her to complete my haircut. Then she gave me a hand-held mirror so I could take a look at what the back of my hair looked like. She told me I was brave to donate 12 inches. She said not many people would do it. She also told me Locks of Love would appreciate my beautiful “virgin hair” is what she called it, knowing I have never dyed it. I use heat on my hair a lot and surprisingly, my hair isn’t that damaged. It grows pretty fast and as far as I know, it’s healthy. She said Locks of Love got to a point where they were in desperate need of hair donations, so now they accept colored hair and permed hair

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Here’s Locks of Love’s address to mail your hair donation:

234 Southern Blvd.
West Palm Beach, FL 33405 – 2701

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Processed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with a6 preset

Click or tap here to go to their website if you are interested in more information that I didn’t provide in this post 

X O ,

T I N A  R E B E C C A

2 thoughts on “Donating My Hair III | Locks of Love

Leave a comment